top of page

Maggio captures two major OHL Awards

(Windsor, ON) -- Windsor Spitfires captain Matthew Maggio (Tecumseh, ON) has captured two post-season awards for his stellar OHL season.

With a league-leading 54 goals and 57 assists for 111 points, Maggio took home the Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy, receiving the OHL’s Top Scorer Award presented by Kubota Canada.

As the OHL’s top-scoring right winger, Maggio also earns the Jim Mahon Memorial Trophy.

The New York Islanders prospect was a plus-41 performer, scoring just four of his 54 goals on the power play to become one of four players in the past decade to score at least 45 even strength goals in a season.

Maggio tied a Spitfires single game franchise record with his five goals on December 15th in a 6-3 win over the Erie Otters, joining Daniel D’Amico, Paul Gagne and Gerry Leroux as the fourth Spitfire to accomplish the feat. He follows last year’s Eddie Powers Trophy recipient, former teammate Wyatt Johnston in becoming the fourth player in modern Spitfires franchise history to claim the honour. Other recipients have included Taylor Hall (2009-10) and Peter Sarno (1997-98) while Earl Reibel (1949-50) and Bert Giesebrecht (1948-49) also have their names etched on the trophy.

A fifth round (142nd overall) pick by the New York Islanders last summer, the overage Maggio wraps-up his OHL regular season career with 99 goals, 118 assists and 217 points over 212 contests spent between Windsor and the Ottawa 67’s, who selected him in the fifth round (86th overall) of the 2018 OHL Priority Selection.

Maggio recorded 17 points (7-10–17) in 25 games last Spring as the Spits won a Western Conference title and reached Game 7 of the OHL Championship Series.

The Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy was donated by the Toronto Marlboro Athletic Club in memory of Eddie Powers which was first awarded in 1945-46 to Tod Sloan of St. Michael’s who scored 79 points in 25 games. In addition to Johnston, other recent recipients have included Marco Rossi of the Ottawa 67’s in 2019-20, high-scoring present-day Dallas Stars winger Jason Robertson of the Niagara IceDogs in 2018-19, along with former Spitfire Aaron Luchuk, who claimed the honour as a member of the Barrie Colts in 2017-18.

Additionally, Maggio is the first Windsor Spitfires player to ever win the Jim Mahon Memorial Trophy as the OHL’s top scoring right-winger.

The Jim Mahon Trophy was first presented following the 1971-72 season by the players and management of the Peterborough Petes in memory of their right winger Jim Mahon who was killed in an accident that summer. Recent recipients have included Lucas Edmonds of the Kingston.


bottom of page